Belated Update: Costume Needs Spare Parts and Life Happens

So, been a few days since I posted, but then、 it’s been a few days since I did much sewing. This is due to a combination of a little detour regarding the costume structure and some general life happenings that need attending to.

The Costume Detour:

In sewing the Ditko costume, one of the tricky parts that I couldn’t get put together right was the glove portion of the pattern. I just figured that I had not spent enough time figuring out the proper way to fit it together, and that the guide numbers I added this time would do the trick.

But try as I might, I cannot get the gloves to go together the way the pattern says they should. I double-checked that in modifying the details of the web pattern, I did not modify the foundation of how the seams should fit. I tried this and that and the other thing. But no, if it does work properly, I cannot figure out how.

But then I had a thought. I had wanted a way to be able to slip the gloves off my hands if needed, which I was going to accomplish by adding a velcroed slit to each wrist seam. But between the potential complications of that procedure, and the issues I am having with the gloves, I decided to take a different route.

In making DIY spandex gloves, I had found a tutorial for doing a basic hand trace onto a double layer of fabric, and then sewing along the trace lines. The resulting glove fits like a–well, a glove. It is important to allow a little “give” around the tracing, but it works fairly well. So I made a Photoshop template for just gloves using that sewing pattern, and added modified versions of the web patterns and the red, patterned background that matches the rest of the costume. I can submit that to FabricOnDemand and have some removable gloves for the costume. Then I can just cut the hand portions of the existing bodysuit and sew it up like regular long shirt sleeves. I like this plan.

But since I will be paying for a yard of fabric printing regardless, and I had a fair amount of space left to play with, I decided to go ahead and see what parts of my Ditko rebuild I could fit into that space. So I have the mask parts and the boots from the Ditko design. It will be a great chance to test the pattern pieces. If they don’t work, I will know what to adjust. If they do work, I will have the next costume partly done already!

Screenshot (123)

Life Happens Part 1:

I have been aware for a while that a management position is opening up at my workplace, and have been lurking, waiting to apply. The job finally posted, and I pounced, getting my application, resume, and such polished off and I submitted it all yesterday. Hopefully, interviews will take place sometime in the next couple of weeks. All very exciting and nerve-racking.

Life Happens Part 2:

JAPAN!

I have had a trip to Japan planned for months, and had kinda sorta put it at the back of my mind for the most part. But it’s coming up soon, so I realized I really need to revisit the details of my plans and make sure I have all my ducks in a row. That promises to occupy a bit of my time and energy.

Going forward…

I still plan to squeeze in work on the costume. I can go ahead and do the lower half of the sleeves, then add the zipper that goes down the sides and across the back, and then finish off the arm seams. Then I will have a glove-less costume until the mini-print of fabric arrives with the gloves. That will be 10 days-ish processing time, plus however many days it takes for FabricOnDemand to get their site working. It’s been down the past day or so! I wonder if it is overwhelmed with cosplayers and Halloween costume seekers? {shrug}

またね!

 

 

Leave a comment