Let Me Explain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up…

Update 1: Traditional Costume Fabric

So, finally, my new costume fabric with the “traditional” Spidey design is on the way, and should–fingers crossed–make it here in time for my 3 day weekend, i.e. when I actually have time to do something with it. Yay!

Screenshot (44)

Update 2: Web-shooter Props

I was brainstorming “found” items to build web-shooter props, but I think I might actually make them mostly out of Worbla or another thermoplastic material. That way, I could get the size and appearance just right, including painting them with metal and leather finishes.

Update 3: Spider-Shoes

Did a little looking into shoes that I can cannibalize for the structure/soles of the Spider-Boots. I am starting out by looking for aqua shoes/aqua socks, because I like the sturdy rubber tread they have. Here is my best candidate so far: cheap, and they appear to have a toe and tread structure that could be separated (with the remainder to be discarded). The idea is to put the tread portion on the outside/bottom of the costume socks, and the toe structure under the costume socks, over my toes, to get the right shape.

Update 4: Eye Frames

While I am reasonably happy with my Worbla frames, I may look into an alternate bead-based thermoplastic that is more suitable for a mold that I could make out of clay. But I will have to be sure that the result would be a big enough improvement to be worth the effort.

wpid-img_20140824_192936.jpg

Update 5: The Multi-Piece Ditko Style Design

I have been hard at work modifying the Photoshop template for the Ditko design so that I have a mask/shirt/gloves/pants/boots type of costume. I ran into some pretty uncertain territory modifying the existing torso/arms portion of the template, so I have switched to building my own shirt portion based on the design I have actually sewn before, and will adjust the colors/web pattern to fit. I feel much more confident about the shirt portion now.

That’s about it for now. I’m looking forward to getting the traditional costume started.

And for those with a three day weekend… Friday isn’t too far away!

And even if you don’t get to enjoy an extended weekend, or a weekend at all, try to give yourself some time to relax and enjoy. I recommend making a super hero costume.

2 thoughts on “Let Me Explain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up…

    • There are two places you can get that sewing pattern, with a choice of super hero design. Gun Head Design: http://www.gunheaddesign.com/ and 4 Neo Designs: http://www.4neodesigns.com/ The basic patterns are pretty similar, but take a look at both to compare prices and see what designs each one offers. The main issues I ran into were (A) you might want to overestimate your height you size the file (there are basic sizing instructions with the file download). I had two attempts come out unworkably short. (B) The sewing instructions are not super clear, especially for the gloves. I still don’t know how to do them right. Unless you’re already an expert, it’s worth finding someone to sew it for you.

      Like

Leave a comment