Really intended to work on the mask model head…

I intended to do more work on the mask model head and practical testing for the frames and eye holes, etc. But I got sucked into getting the eye shape for the next version of the costume just right. Still not sure if I’m there, but I think I’m getting close.

First, thanks to the fine suggestion from SaiTurtlesninjaNX, I started with the shape of the eyes from the 70’s era Japanese Spider-Man:

Supaidaman

A little tweaking:

supaidamanu_eye_mod3PNG

And then I thought maybe I want the eyes an itty bit taller, more…I dunno, bulbous? So I found an eye drawn by Stuart Immonen:

This was a bit too big, so I tweaked…

immonen_eye_mod2PNG

First of all, yes, they are different. Probably only in a way that matters to me. But I think I like the second one better. I’ll probably try paper versions of each on the actual costume when the time comes and see how they look.

As for the actual testing on the existing costume mask model, I did do a little tape test to see what the Ditko eye looks like:

wpid-img_20140812_071429.jpg

I think the shape and size came out pretty well (the sides of the model head need to be bulked up a bit to be closer to my head’s circumference I think). But I am still thinking the foam might be too messy around the edges.

On my next day off, I hope to spend some quality time with Spider-Bob here, doing some more final testing.

Happy Hump Day everyone.

 

One thought on “Really intended to work on the mask model head…

  1. Just keep trying and testing. I remember when I was designing my eyes. I must of printed out like a dozen different eyes design. But worst come to worst for your DIY suit you can always make more then one mask if you like more then one eyes.

    Like

Leave a comment