Tutorials Complete & Zippers + Spandex = Anxiety

Almost Ready to Start!

I just wrapped up the final steps of my multi-part tutorial for assembling and sewing the custom printed costume fabric. The obsessive side of me is tempted to go through and refine it all, but even though I will give it a once-over and probably add more items to my checklists, I will resist trying to prettify something that is just for my own use.

Zipper Madness

The final stage of the costume sewing will be the installation of the invisible zippers, and that is the part that causes me the most apprehension. But I am feeling better the more research I do. Other than the general concerns about doing something stupid like installling the zipper backward or out of alignment–issues that can be avoided with checklists and cautious marking and so forth–there is the rather more slippery matter of installing a zipper in spandex without rippling and curling. But I am getting some good tips and will be doing some practice and testing ahead of installation in the actual costume, so that will make me feel a lot more confident (or a lot more scared, depending).

And the Most Important Missing Ingredient…

Time. It always seem to run out so quickly. But with my plan to do things in chunks (oh yeah, that’s the other prep thing I need to do, my scheduling of costume production phases…), then theoretically I should just need to set aside a small amount of time each day to get at least a little something done. But every now and again I should probably spend time with my family and maybe do some housework or something.

Up Next: Lookin’ for Time in All the Wrong Places (I don’t know what that means either)

Leave a comment