Scary Sewing of Spandex Part 3: “Already? Didn’t you already post today?”

wpid-img_20140524_110604.jpg

It’s not the photo, I made the pattern blurry in real life.

So, had some extra time today and decided to go ahead and tackle the next phase of the costume, the “Tunic.”

Throughout the process of conceiving and drawing the pattern, I was back and forth as to how successful this attempt would be. I was cobbling together principles of pattern-making from the leggings tutorial, glimpses of homemade long sleeve t-shirt patterns, and shapes/structures gathered from examining some old shirts from my closet.

wpid-img_20140524_110643.jpg

Design for a sleeve or an arm cannon?

As things moved along, it sure started to look shirt-like:

wpid-img_20140524_110504.jpgwpid-img_20140524_113638.jpgwpid-img_20140524_133339.jpg

I ran into some more bunching issues at the armpits. I need to work on my–seam junctions, I guess you’d call it? Whether it’s crotches or armpits, I’ve got issues.

Once I finished sewing it up, I was eager to try it on. I actually wasn’t expecting much…

wpid-img_20140524_143127.jpg

Is breathing *that* important, really?

I am skinny, but I think this mirror elongates the reflection...

I am skinny, but I think this mirror elongates the reflection…

 

But not too shabby, actually. A bit tight, but overall…not too bad. Spandex may be hard to sew, but when your goal is to achieve that “painted-on” look, it’s actually pretty forgiving in terms of fit it seems.

It does ride up a bit at the waist, but my plan all along has been to find a way to connect the tunic and pants at the waist once putting them on, so theoretically that should all work out okay.

Whew! This has been quite a whirlwind of spandex the past couple of days! (The apartment floor certainly looks like there was a whirlwind of spandex… )

Coming soon: Boots & Gloves, probably

 

Leave a comment